A dog, a jog and a blog

Jogging with dogs

Jogging, blogging and dodging dogs.

Old Navy yoga pants, 50 cent on my MP3 and a bounce in my step…I decided to go for a jog. I regularly jog but this time it would be different. This time I would not complete my route because as I rounded the first corner I saw a dog. It was a mid sized dog on a leash being walked by an older man. I tensed up since it was a narrow alley-way and the dog seemed very excited: jumping and yapping. I stopped and stood on the side waiting for the dog, and its owner, to pass.

Now this is where things got messy.

The dog owner didn’t tighten the leash, the dog started growling and the owner seemed oblivious to the whole thing.  All of a sudden the dog jumped on me and sunk his incisors right into my leg, they went through my pants and right into my calf. I screamed! And once I started screaming I couldn’t stop!

Your freaking dog just bit my leg!!! He bit my leg! I am going to get #*@$^ rabies you $#@#%&^%!!! I have five children!! I am their main caregiver!! I can’t afford to be laid up because of your $%#$%$%^ dog!!!

I realized that I was yelling, as psychotic as I may have seemed. The owner was staring at me blankly and finally when he responded he started to sign to me. This was too much!!! The person walking the dog was deaf! He never heard the dog growling and, even though I couldn’t stop screaming at no one in particular, couldn’t hear me either.

I called the ambulance to treat my leg. The police came and asked if I wanted to file a complaint. They were all wonderful and although I still have teeth marks in my leg and the remnants of the bruise on my leg from the strength of the dog clamping on….I am now on the mend.

I had to miss work for a few days. I was forced to limp around. I needed to rent a car to transport my sorry ass around and my Old Navy yoga pants have four holes in them now from the dog’s teeth. Luckily the dog had all it’s shots so I only needed to get a tetanus shot (which btw, considering my hypochondria, made me think that I had lockjaw).

Now when I see a dog coming towards me I tense up which is not good for a runner like me because I am so often accompanied on my run by canines who like to be my partner for a few kilometers. I had to deal with the trauma of my children who were worried that I would be okay because they have seen me injured before and it rocked the foundation of their security.

So what’s my point?

  1. Train your freaking dogs properly!!!
  2. Pick up after their poop!
  3. Don’t walk aggressive dogs in residential neighborhoods!
  4. Buy me a new pair of yoga pants (size small)
  5. Don’t let anything stop you from running.
2 comments on “A dog, a jog and a blog

  1. Devorah says:

    OMG… that’s terrible!!! Are you ok now???

  2. devoramason says:

    My leg is almost completely healed but it was so traumatic. Every time I pass a dog I tense up. I love dogs so it is very disheartening to me to be scared of them.

Leave a Reply

